Maison de La Rocque

From Jerripedia
Jump to: navigation, search


HouseIcon.png


Jersey houses


De La Rocque, St Helier


H21DeLaRocque2.jpg


Maison de la Rocque is a two-storey pantiled traditional farmhouse on Trinity Hill

Index of all house profiles

If you own this house, have ancestors who lived here, or can provide any further information and photographs, please contact us through editorial@jerripedia.org

H21DeLaRocque4.jpg

Property name

De La Rocque

Other names

Maison de la Rocque

Location

Rue de Trachy, St Helier

Type of property

Building with origins as a medieval hall house

Valuations

No recent transactions

Families associated with the property

La Cloche: OJH says that 'it seems clear' that this house was the home of Etienne La Cloche ( -1653) and that he refused to leave it and live in St Ouen when he was appointed Rector of that parish. He was a Royalist, and when Lydcot, the Parliamentary Lieut-Governor, came, he escaped. The house was ransacked and loads of timber were carted away. De La Rocque: Pierre de la Rocque, who may have had the house built, was accused by Henri Dumaresq, Seigneur of Samares, in 1567, of wrongfully using his arms on his house and in other places. This dispute may be related to the trefoils at Maison de La Rocque.

Datestones

Despite the age of the property, none have been located

Historic Environment Record entry

Listed building

A building of considerable significance, originating as a medieval hall house later floored across, with tourelle. The chamber block is of outstanding importance as the only other example in the Channel Islands of the type well-known as the Langlois House at Hamptonne, where chamber and cellier are combined with a long agricultural range.

Several trefoil-headed windows may have been moved but are not only unique examples, but also are important to show the high quality of detailing in houses in medieval times. It also has a possibly unique type of cellar below the main house. Very good survival of key early features. Shown on the Richmond Map of 1795.

Farmstead with medieval origins and later development phases, including farmhouse and attached former stable, further detached house, detached barn around farmyard. Main house, L-shaped, two-storey, with attic, eight bays on the south; hall, service and possible dower in two bays to the east, returning to north as chamber block and single storey former stable beyond.

Hipped and pitched pantile roof, rendered chimneys, thatch stones, corrugated roof on former stable block.

Old Jersey Houses

Included in Volume One as Maison de la Rocque. The house is believed to have much earlier origins than the following extract suggests:

There are some very remarkable window lintels here but little else remains of what must have been a fine 17th century house. One would have expected at least one round arch to accompany these lintels. One has a trefoil, one a conventional leaf design and one a serpentine motif we have not found anywhere else.
MaisonDeLaRocqueStH.jpg

Notes and references

Personal tools
other Channel Islands
contact and contributions
Donate

Please support Jerripedia with a donation to our hosting costs