On the coast
A painting of Portelet by C G Blampied
Portelet became the subject of enormous controversy during 2012 as blocks of flats on the skyline, which many believe to be an intrusive eyesore, were completed. They have taken the place of the former holiday camp, which was itself highly controversial when first built and at periods when substantial additions were made. It is interesting, therefore, to read the following description of the bay from 1951 by George Balleine in his Bailiwick of Jersey
- "A picturesque cove in St Brelade parish, lying just west of Noirmont, once one of the beauty-spots of the Island, now alas, largely spoilt by a sprawling holiday camp. In the centre of the Bay is the Ile au Guerdain, which is an old family name found in the parishes of Trinity and St Brelade, on which stands a martello tower, built by the War Office during the Napoleonic Wars. This is often mistakenly spoken of as Janvrin's Tomb."
The name Portelet means 'little harbour' There are two bays in Guernsey with the same name, one in the parish of Torteval, one in Forest. There is also a cove behind Mont Orgueil Castle known as Petit Portelet.
A desirable seaside residence, former home of the Parker family, owners of Hotel de France